The Rosary

Today is the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.

The Rosary is a meditative prayer.

It is composed of 20 decades;

The Joyful mysteries

The Luminous Mysteries

The Sorrowful Mysteries

The Glorious Mysteries


Each set of Mysteries has five decades.

A decade consists of ten Hail Marys and one Our Father and one Glory be:

(To the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit).


It is a bit of a Christian Mantra.

The mysteries consist of episodes from:

The conception, birth, and infancy of Jesus,

The public ministry of Jesus,

The passion and death of Jesus,

The Resurrection and Pentecost.  We also reflect that the Assumption and the crowing of Mary are also prelude of what is also our destiny in Christ.


We are invited to reflect on the mystery, then to pray one our Father, the to pray ten Hail Marys and at the end one Glory Be.

As the decade is being prayed one reflects on the particular mystery Mantra style.


Mary mother of Jesus is a role model of Faith for us. She is mother of the Church,

Loves us like a mother.

Jesus gave her to us as He was dying on the cross.


The Rosary can be prayed anywhere.

Some prefer to walk as they pray it; others sit or kneel.





Image credit: Thérèse Westby via Unsplash