Today’s General Diocese Info

Covering an area of 1.5 million square kilometers, the Diocese of Darwin, established in 1938, is one of the largest Dioceses in Australia. Despite this, it has one of the smallest populations with only about 230,000 people. About 21% of our population is Catholic. Geographically, most of the Northern Territory is included within the bounds of the Diocese of Darwin, except for the very bottom. The Diocese of Darwin includes 20 parishes, 18 schools and a range of agencies. Our current bishop is Bishop Charles Gauci.